On The Lake Summer Part 2

Transition to retirement has allowed me to spend summer as I did when I was young. Labor Day meant the start of school & time to go home. Later in life it signaled the start of traveling for CBS/NFL & a busy 5 months. Now I look forward to the transition to Fall at this special place in my life. Summer isn’t over for a few more days.

01

Driving my smiling daughter around on her wake-board is one of the most joyful activities I did this summer. She is an inspiration with her tenacity & character. I have become a fan of the light at sunrise.

02

Although getting my sailboat in the water was delayed…long story…I do enjoy looking at it knowing if the wind is right I can slide it into the water and catch a breeze. The triple rainbow…reflection off the water…was a first for my eyes.

smaller

I used to own a sailboat named Chasing The Wind. Chasing sailboats with a camera is rewarding when you get a shot like this. Fun to sail, fun to watch and fun to take pictures of…Sailing is fun.

sm-race

These 2 sailors are learning/practicing to race. I prefer pleasure sailing vs racing but as they say…what ever fills your sails.

sm-flag

The weather & logistics of the wooden boat show were less than good for photography.  These nautical classics, like most boats, make better pictures on the water not tied to the dock. I choose to take tight detail shots & the soft focus, gray fractal reflections of the water in the background of this shot blend with the texture of the wind blown flag. I’m proud it only took me 4 shots to get the image I saw in my mind.

07

Carving flat water at the beginning of a new day. That is better than a cup of coffee. The background has few distractions & nicely out of focus. The horizontal of the shoreline is above the subjects head. All in all a shot I like a lot even though it wasn’t the shot I was after. See Summer Part 1.

08

The individual subjects of the image are quite common. Their alignment with good light like this is not. The Bemus Point Stow Ferry and the Chautauqua Belle are constant reminders of the history of this wonderful body of water. I got my license and now have piloted the Ferry. More boat time! Come take a ride and let me share some stories about the lake.

 

 

One thought on “On The Lake Summer Part 2

  1. What a wonderful life you have, Jay, and happy that you took retirement when you are young. We see that light at the end of the tunnel and its getting brighter. Our “to do” lists are quite long but we have always made time to enjoy our travels along the way. Greg is looking forward to having more time for his music and writing his second cookbook. I anticipate working on my novel, getting back into my crafts, and having more time for friends and family. Together we want to finish a guide that we are writing for small retail businesses in the computer age. A friend just turned 60 and I told him that he has just entered the best decade of his life. If your travels bring you out this way again, we’d love to see you. In the meantime, smooth sailing to you! Ciao, Lois and Greg

    Like

Leave a Reply

