Urban Photography

I enjoy street photography but the bigger picture of URBAN photography is outside my comfort zone. However, since my career involved a significant amount of travel to NFL cities I attempted to keep an open mind/eye. When I wandered I occasionally found a few results I was pleased with. The “Cliché” shots in many places, Pittsburgh included, aren’t what I look for. Occasionally I try my perspective at a “Scenic Icon” or I just can’t pass the opportunity. In my travels I complained all I saw traveling were airports, hotels & the loading docks where I worked. I can’t complain about my career. However, if I had it to do over I would take more time to wander.

CVG 082I’ll get the Cliché shots out of the way first. River towns, no matter the size, have a unique perspective of balance with the natural world that landlocked cities can’t offer. The historic Roebling Bridge & the barge offer a foreground helping to define the city of Cincinnati.
ORDAlthough this particular image isn’t a signature shot of ORD, if you go to DT Chicago you should go to Cloud Gate aka The Bean. This selfie/fun-house-mirror shot took me about 15 snaps. At first I tried time the reflections of people in the frame. I soon realized shadows of were also a dynamic component.
DET 52nd Floor 083Normally I wouldn’t consider fireworks a worthy subject. However, when you are on the 52nd story and the display is just outside your window at eye level or below you reach for the camera. The Detroit River provides a backdrop for the fireworks & a foreground for Windsor. Sometimes…life is like that.

DFW 080Over the last 20 years of my CBS/NFL career I worked a lot of games in DFW & spent many a Thanksgiving  with the best crews anybody could ever dream of working with. This view was returning from Cowboy Stadium & one I had seen dozens of times. One particular ride to the hotel, when the sun was bright with a big blue Texas sky I realized this could be a nice shot. However, after a couple of attempts, I found the overcast sky was a better backdrop for the ribbons of concrete & steel.

ATL 081The 1st Ferris Wheel was in 1893 at the Colombian Exposition built by a man/business from PIT. Now they are urban “Trendy” aka cliché. I look at this geometric machine in relation to its environment. After a 360 walk-around of this wheel in ATL I came up with a diverse assortment of relationships.

I didn’t see the “Wheel of Light” at the 15 PIT Regatta but imagine it could have been a nice temporary addition to our World Class Vista. Surprisingly, a quick Google did not produce any images of Mr. Ferris namesake invention in Pittsburgh. I did however stumble upon a photograph of a prototype of the wheel in Pittsburgh taken in 1885. It was on display at the Photographic History Museum on the North Side just a few doors away from Bernie’s. It is well worth your time to visit if you have any interest in how photography has evolved.
Birmingham UK 076The next 3 images are from across the pond in the UK…Birmingham, Liverpool & London. Although I was surprised when I found canals in Birmingham I shouldn’t have been. The British were leaders in the Industrial Revolution & of course their seafaring skills in which Britannia ruled the waves. It makes sense water transportation would be a part of any major urban area.

Liverpool UK 077I expected docks of Liverpool to be a worthy subject because of its historic nature combined with a recent transformation. I didn’t expect my favorite shot to be of a newer building with a corner like a prow of a ship. I’m sure the “photo bomb” by the seagull influenced my attraction to this image. Anyone watching from lifeboats would have seen the name of this port as the stern of the Titanic sank below the surface of the cold Atlantic. Although not built there, White Star Line, was headquartered in Liverpool & the woeful ship was registered there.
Canary Warf London 079The evolution of Canary Wharf on the Thames from one of the world’s busiest ports in the early 1800’s to an international finance center in the 21st century speaks volumes as to the roles of commerce, capital & location. The blue-collar longshoremen with their hooks scampering around the docks have been replaced with pin stripped business people with laptops.
STL 085This shot I stumbled upon searching for a store in South STL to buy work gloves. No matter where you travel in this wonderful country you can find a barbershop. I’m not sure if the price is accurate, but I do believe if I walked in with a full head of my wild hair the barber would re-negotiate before starting to clip my coiffure.

If anybody has made it this far, please tell me if 9 images are too many on a single blog.

One thought on “Urban Photography

  1. Jay, I’ve just reviewed your blogs on this site and your photography is fantastic! What an eye you have for catching those wonderful things where we normally don’t focus our attention. Your action shots are superb!

    Like

Leave a Reply

