Forms of Water

The diverse forms of water provide different opportunities for subjects, activities & enjoyment near lakes streams & oceans.  During the filming of CHASING THE RIVER I encountered ice, fog & flowing water demonstration the beauty of this basic force of nature.  In video the characteristics of this life-sustaining element are more powerful.  However, a still can capture the subtle singular interaction nature has with our lives.

CTR ice

Ice CTR

Winter has never been my favorite season.  But the lower position of the sun, bare trees, lack of haze and juxtaposition with other seasons can make compelling subjects.  In this shot notice how the form of the liquids previous state & the sculpting of the wind in its current frozen condition.  I considered B/W but felt the subtle grad in the blues along with almost zero saturation gives more impact to the sensory emotion of temperature.  This still was grabbed from Varicam 720…slightly less than 1 mp…cropped to even lower 480X360.  1n 2004 HD video opened up quality for me I never dreamed video could reproduce.  I am still amazed that now cell phone camera have more resolution that early HD cameras.  OBTW eary 1080 is just over 2 mp.

CTRBridge ice 006

Bridge CTR

In this shot from CTR, the water is reflective & creates an interesting perspective on a cloudless afternoon in February.  Sometimes it is luck, other times knowing the angle of the light in conjunction with the position of the camera is the key to getting the shot.  A few degrees difference in where you stand & the angle of the light can be dramatic.  Water is transparent when still, opaque when moving & from the right position it is a mirror.  In the 12 months shooting CTR I was constantly inspired by the variety of attributes stream and tributaries created.

We often take water for granted.  For to many people in the world that is not the case.  This link features the work of Drop by Drop photogs using their craft to tell stories of help to provide 3rd world societies with safe drinking water.

Potomac Fog 007

Potomac Fog

At first I was unsure as to the intrigue of this scene.  In early Fall I stood on the banks of the Potomac and took in the sensory serenity the fog & the river created.   The components of light & subjects were folded together.  I realized I was seeing reflected light off the water bouncing thru moisture, the opposite shore was creeping out of the vapor & the partially submerged rocks were cloaked in a soft mist.  A variety of strong emotions were emerging from a simple temperature difference between the air and the water.  I’m glad I had my first cup-a-joe so I was awake enough to enjoy these subtle textures of the mourning.

 

Reflected Fog

Reflected Fog

Walking to work Sunday morning the sun had just risen.  This familiar building caught my attention.  I hadn’t had my first cup-a-joe so my mind was not fully engaged & I couldn’t quite understand what I was seeing.  I grabbed a few shots & forgot about it.  A few days later I was reviewing shots on my computer & did a forensic examination of the light.  The sun was rising above the city to my back left.  The fog was floating about 30 feet above the Ohio but not where I was walking.  The early light was reflecting off the Trimont windows down at me.  The building with its reflected golden light was distorted by the soft fog I was looking thru creating a halo effect.  An optical game of billiards.

My daughter took my suggestion about buying art from different places she lives/visits.  She told me she didn’t have a shot of Pittsburgh for her apartment and that it would be a good Christmas gift.  She introduced me to the work of David DiCello.  Although I believe photography post-production & HDR are over done, I found his finished images to be an exception.  His work with subtly enhance the image.  He doesn’t transform them into a fantasy world the eye will never see.  Plus he has a passion about photographing one of the most visually stunning cities I have ever seen.  OK, I’m biased because I’ve lived here my entire life.

Leave a Reply

